The Patient Mind (NOT!)

Today was a very interesting day.  This morning I woke up and started my normal routine prior to going off to work.  Nothing appeared out of the ordinary.  That was until something went very wrong.

Our house is three floors (including the basement).  We have a bathroom on the 2nd floor, a kitchen on the first floor and a 1/2 bathroom in the basement.  This morning, we noticed that the 2nd floor bathroom had no water.  That was when panic struck.

I started to run around the house like a lunatic.  Running up the stairs.  Running down the stairs.  Running around the stairs.  Panic had situated itself deep within my veins.  I didn’t know what to do.  Do I call a plumber?  Do I stop, drop and roll?  Do I scream and yell?  It was then that logic kicked in.

My wife said to me, “You do know it’s 16 degrees outside.”  I then started down the path from panic to anger.  I said, “Of course I do” even though I wasn’t so sure.  We thought for a minute and realized that our pipes had frozen.  How could this be?  Our heat was on.  The house was nice and toasty.  So why did the pipes freeze?

We then proceeded to check every faucet in the house.  Running up the stairs.  Running down the stairs.  No more running around the stairs.  It was discovered that only the 2nd floor had no water.  Every other pipe in the house was good.  So if heat rises and the house was nice and toasty, why did the 2nd floor pipes freeze?

This was a job for “Super Hubby”!  Instead of calling a plumber, I decided to take matters into my own hands.  I raised the heat by 9 degrees to allow the heat to go on.  That way the 2nd floor would be a balmy 80 degrees.  That should unfreeze the pipes.  Or would it?

For the next three hours, as the heat rose, I did what any good man would do, pace and get angry.  Let’s not be productive today.  Let’s just pace, get angry and wait.  That would do the trick.  After the three hours had passed, we placed the heat back to where it should be.  We then checked the water and guess what….no water.

It was then that we decided to call for help.  We called our local plumber and told them the situation.  Their response was, “I’m sorry, J.D., we can’t get to you until later this afternoon.  If anything goes terribly wrong call us back immediately.”  WHAT?! Wait until the afternoon.  So I did what any good man would do…pace, get angry, get my blood pressure up and eat.  Isn’t that what we men do?  We get ourselves into such a tizzy because we have absolutely no control over this situation.

During the course of the day, I decided to finally pick up the Bible and read.  I wasn’t in the best of moods but I knew that it might help my attitude.  However, I have been reading in Isaiah, which is filled with warnings, curses and blessings.  I wasn’t sure if God would speak or (more than likely) I wouldn’t listen.  So I started reading.

After reading a number of chapters, I placed the Good Book down, laid my head on the chair and fell asleep.  I was at rest.  A bit later I awoke only to find out the plumber still hadn’t come.  So what did I do?  I didn’t learn my lesson, I just paced, got angry and felt a state of depression (of sorts).  What could I do?  At my full-time job I fix problems.  I fix other people’s problems and help them get their copiers up and running.  But because I couldn’t fix the plumbing problem and had to rely on someone else, I felt hopeless and useless.

All day my wife kept repeating, “A bad day with the house is better than a good day in the hospital”.  I knew she was right, but I had to fix the problem…and couldn’t.  Later that afternoon, the plumber showed up.  We ran up the stairs.  We ran down the stairs.  Then the shocking news came.  He said, in a deep eastern European voice, “There is nothing I can do.  We must wait.  Until either ice melts or pipe burst.  Until then, all we can do is wait.  Call me if pipe bursts.”  HUH?  Wait until a pipe bursts?  But did he really say that?  No he said to wait until either the ice melts or the pipe bursts.  So what did we do?

We waited and continue to wait.  You see, God had shown me something in Isaiah today.  I’m not in control.  I’m not the star of the show.  I’m not as patient as I appear.  I have no choice but to rely on Him…completely.  Now, I am not running up the stairs or down the stairs.  In fact, just moments ago, we heard a big bang (and it wasn’t the universe) only to come and find out that the cold water was once again running.  No hot water yet, but we do have cold water.  AMAZING!  I did nothing.  God did everything.  He allowed physics to take over and melt the ice in the cold water pipe first.

Although the situation makes no sense, I learned a valuable lesson today.  The patient mind does not concern itself with the mediocre.  It doesn’t worry.  It doesn’t try to take control.  It just does what it can do, wait and see what the Lord wants to do.

God Bless and encourage someone today.

One thought on “The Patient Mind (NOT!)

Leave a Reply

