When I Grow Up, I Will Become….

When you were a kid, did anyone ever ask you, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  If your answers were like mine, they varied from a famous sports player to lawyer to astronaut.  Then as we got older things started to change.  We entered high school, discovered the opposite sex and some of us realized, “I need to work very hard and go to college.”

After college another change happened, the excitement of changing the world in the workplace.  Eagerly we go after the dreams and goals we had since we were small.  We have the “go getter” attitude doing whatever our bosses ask us.  We stay positive become successful and make a lot of money.  We buy the things we always wanted, live in the house we always dreamed of and marry the person who is perfect for us.

Oh, was I dreaming?  Sorry about that.  The reality is we all go into our lives with great expectations of changing society.  However, when we try to change things most times we get heartache, headache, stress and sickness. We think to ourselves, “This wasn’t the life I wanted.  Is this the outcome of all my dreams and goals?”  Our brains cannot comprehend the insignificance of what we do day in and day out.  We become depressed and ask ourselves, “What do I want to be when I grow up?”

You look into the mirror in the morning, notice the grey hair creeping slowly like a cat stalking its prey.  You find yourself no longer in shape wondering what happened and where did this person come from.  It is at this point, the search begins.  We start searching for an answer to life.  What is the meaning of all this?  Why am I not satisfied with my life?  What am I doing wrong?  It is when you get to the bottom of the barrel, you hear a knock at the door.

You go to the window, pull back the shades and look out to see only the shadow of a figure you don’t know.  He continues to knock.  What do you do?  You hear the man say, “Can I come in?  Will open the door and let me in?”  If this were to happen to you and if you are anything like me, you would ask “Who is it”, with the phone in hand getting ready to dial 911.  However, in this case, you decide to open the door.

The man at the door is a sight for sore eyes.  He is pleasant, courteous and asks to come in and talk with you.  He doesn’t appear to be a salesman or politician.  He just wants to talk.  You let him into your house, sit down with a cup of coffee and start talking.  He says, “I would like for you to re-decorate.  Let me change a few things and you will discover the joy of things unrealized.”  You hesitantly allow him to make some changes.  Maybe he moves the couch or paints a room.  He then asks, “Can I change your entire house to match mine?”  Now what do you do?

This is the life of the Christian.  The life of asking, “What will I be when I grow up?”  The life of opening the door of our hearts to Christ.  The life of allowing (or not allowing) God to change your life for the better.  What I can say is in order to discover God’s will for your life, you first have to allow Him to enter your life.  Once He enters your life and you have a relationship with Him, the next series of questions happens.  You start to ask, “What am going to do with the rest of my life?”  You re-enter the youthful question, “Can I really change society?”  The answers are not simple but they are easy to answer.

If you really want to know what God has in store for your life, the first step in discovering that is picking up a Bible, reading it and praying for God to speak to you.  God is the only One who can answer that profound life question.  Think about this, if your company has goals set up and you want to take part in achieving those goals, do you ask the guy behind the meat counter at the local supermarket, “Hey can you tell me how I can help make my company grow?”  If you did that, the butcher would say, “Do you want steak or chicken?”  If you want to know God’s will for you, then ask Him.

The Bible says, “…ask and the door will be opened to you.”  Jesus said, “If you want to know the will of my Father, then first seek His kingdom and righteousness.”  Seeking God is key element in the start of this process.  Without seeking God for the goals in your life, you will be achieving vacant lots and empty buildings.  No matter where you are and what you do, if you do it without God, you are doing for the sake of doing.  However, the life with God is the complete opposite.

When you walk with God and ask Him what He wants from you, you discover a satisfaction that is beyond human comprehension.  You discover contentment and joy.  You discover that life is not about you and I, but about God.  Walking with God becomes the most exciting times of your life.  You have never felt this way before and want to continue to feel like that forever.  It is when you seek God with all you heart, with all your mind and with all your strength that God says to us, “I want you to accomplish…..”  You now have your assignment.  God has revealed Himself to you.  He has told you what to do with your life.

So what has God told you?  It may not be extravagant or elegant, but you know that God wants you to do this.  For me, I knew that God wanted me to write.  I wasn’t sure why as I didn’t go to college, didn’t read much in high school and had no intention to write anything (except an occasional poem).  It was during a long “seeking” time with God that He revealed he wanted me to write.

In the next blog, I will share the up and down experience of God’s will in my life and discover what the next step is.  God Bless and encourage someone today.

One thought on “When I Grow Up, I Will Become….

  1. Pingback: Goals Accomplished: Check! | The Ramblings of an Intellectual Sistah

Leave a Reply

