The Copier Training Ground

In my last blog, we saw how God wants to work in your life.  He wants to give you a purpose.  God wants you to answer the door of your heart, let him in and do a bit of re-decorating.  I also mentioned that I would share how God is working in my life to achieve the impossible.

Almost twenty years ago, I met the love of my life.  We were both very young.  I had no idea, at the time, that she would become my wife but I loved spending time with her.  She was shy and innocent.  I was a few years older and working.  Both of us immature.

Although we were both very young, God was very present.  He worked in my life to realize that there was more to life than my satisfaction.  This was the first time I wanted to please someone else.  Until that time, I lived a self filled, prideful, non-purpose driven life.  I did what I wanted to do, when I wanted to do it and with whom I chose.  Now, things had changed.  I wanted to be with her.  I wanted to talk with her.  This was different.

After some time, I realized that I needed more than a high school education.  So I decided to go to trade school.  During that time, God worked in our lives.  We decided to get married even though we were both young and immature.  A number of months prior to getting married, I graduated trade school with honors.  Something I had never achieved before.

You see, when I was in high school, I hated it.  There was nothing there that interested me except lunch, gym and computer class.  All other classes were meaningless.  Why did I need to educate myself?  I would never use this in real life, right?  I failed many classes and believe that some teachers passed me just to get me out of the system.  English was the worst.  I learned to hate reading.  I hated studying and could never get grammar correct.  I read, by force, a total of 2 books in high school.

By the end of my senior year, I was asked what I was going to do with my life.  I said, “I am either entering the military or going to become a cop.”  Unfortunately, both did not happen.  I failed the physical for the military, just before the 1st Gulf War.  The NYPD didn’t want me entering their training without a physical test that would cost me almost $1500 dollars.  It appeared that my life was on track to be a very boring and non-fulfilling life.  That was until I met my wife to be.

Just before I graduated trade school a large company wanted me to learn to fix copy machines.  I had no interest.  I wanted to be an IT administrator.  The dreams and goals I had did not meet the standards of the company that wanted to hire me.  They pursued me a 2nd time.  I turned it down again.  However, during that time, God had been speaking to me through my mentor.  My mentor was a copier technician and understood that I needed to get my foot in the door before being able to progress to something greater.

The company asked me a 3rd time and I accepted the offer.  Out of the hundred plus applicants, this company decided I was worth their effort.  What I didn’t realize, was that God was going to use the copier business as a training ground.

After 3 years, I decided to “sow my oats”.  I went from job to job in the copier business.  I not only fixed faxes and copiers, but I also trained people to fix them.  Then when fixing them wasn’t enough, I decided to sell them.  After failing at sales, I went back to servicing copy machines.  Unfortunately, God was talking but I wasn’t listening.

At one job, I ran my mouth.  I bragged how I was going to be a millionaire by opening a copier business.  No one else knew what they were doing, so I was going to change the industry.  That job lasted less than 3 months.  No one ever admitted it to me, but I believe that I was fired because I ran my mouth.  I did exactly the opposite of what God wanted.

After being fired, I had no choice but to cry out to God and seek His face.  This was the starting point of God letting me know what to do with my life.  It was the 8 1/2 months of unemployment that drew me closer to God.  I learned to tithe.  I learned to spend time in His Word.  I learned to really pray.  God allowed the bad situation to occur to show me He still loves me.

During that time, I was paying off bills, even though I had no money.  I was excited about my future even though I was trying to support a wife and child.  No matter what happened, I knew that dependency on God was all I needed.  I could do nothing without Him.  I thought I was meant to open a business but was failing that as well.  After the 8 1/2 months, the parent company of the 1st company I ever worked for, wanted to hire me.  I prayed and let God know that I would spend the rest of my life there, if He so chose.  I was hired at a salary higher than I had ever had.

During the past 10 years working for this company, my job has changed significantly.  God has used some of my co-workers and I to pray for the leaders of our company in order to show His mercy and grace.  He has also used this copier experience to teach me to write.  Up until, about 6 years ago, I had never thought about writing.  Let’s be for real.  I was the one to fail English.  I was the one who didn’t care about anything or anyone.  What could I write?

Over the past few years, my bosses have shared with me, this so-called writing talent.  At first I didn’t believe them.  I did what I had to do.  Then during a hard time in my life, God asked me to write about my experiences.  What?!  Me, write?  I decided to take a chance and start.  I started and stopped at least a dozen times.  Until, I found WordPress.com.  I knew that I was to write but didn’t know where until a friend of mine told me about this site. This is my obedience ground.

To be true to God is to be obedient to what He tells us.  If we are to write, then write.  If we are to counsel, then counsel.  If we are to teach, then teach.  We need to be obedient to His calling in our lives.  So to make this a simple as I can, here are the steps I took to discover God’s working in my life…..(to be continued)

God Bless and encourage someone today.

2 thoughts on “The Copier Training Ground

  1. I love your post! God is so good to us. You know, I find similarities about your life with mine: I also think I am writing because God wants me to do it. I think God started to show me the things I was going to need before me, actually, needed them. God Bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

