What is Your Greatest Success?

I recently asked this question to my friends and family.  The answers were what you would typically think should be our success:

  • “Raising my four wonderful children who I love with all my heart”
  • “Daughter, Son, 2 Grand Children and 40 years of marriage.”
  • “My greatest success is the fruition of Gods plans for me that I faithfully followed through with, even when I wanted to stray and do things my own way!”
  • “I think being honest with my parents tops making it through my calc homework.”
  • “Having been blessed with a job that allowed me to clothe my family, feed my family and keep a roof over their heads!”
  • “My daughter a teenager, is a very good judge of character. She knows which peers are not good examples to hang out with.

I also had an opportunity to talk with a long time friend who was very successful in business.  When I asked his response he said, “The day I was born was probably the most successful because if I wasn’t born then how successful would I have been?”

All of these wonderful answers play a significant part in our lives.  Our family, jobs and even doing well at work or school can be great experiences and great successes, but are the greatest?

What if you were to lose your job tomorrow?  What if one of your kids suddenly died without reason?  What if it was your parents or grandchildren?  How would you handle that?  Would you be able to make it through the day?  If you are like me, you are probably having a hard time answering that question. The “what if” scenario can drive people to madness.  At the same time, we also must be able to answer these questions confidently.

I also have had great success in life.  I am married to my best friend and most beautiful woman on this earth.  My boys are respectful and polite.  The job I have allows me to finance dreams and goals I never thought I could achieve.  I have good friends that accept me for who I am rather than try to change me, but it always wasn’t full of success.  I had failures as well, lots of them.  As the apostle Paul said, “I have learned to live with little and with excess”, I too have experienced this, but all of these pales in comparison to my greatest success.

In fact, the greatest success in my life has nothing to do with my family, work or church.  It has nothing to do with my hobbies, dreams or desires.  The greatest success in my life doesn’t even do with something that I accomplished.  The greatest success in my life has everything to do with me doing nothing.  I make you a bet you’re confused now.

The greatest success in my life was when Jesus called my name and I responded to His calling.  That’s it.  So why is this the greatest success?  Think about it.  If I didn’t respond to the calling of Christ, my life would be consumed with this world.  If I lost someone or something and identified myself with them, I would become depressed and self-focused wanting others to feel my pain.  However, if I focus on Someone eternal, then my life is filled with hope, joy and peace.

I know too many people who allow their jobs to be their point of individuality.  Some may allow their looks to be their distinguishing factor.  But what if you lost all of it?  How would you identify yourself?  Would you be able to focus on something or someone bigger than you or I?

The only logical solution is Jesus.  As Jesus is living and eternal, He is the only logical choice for long lasting hope, joy and peace.  Jesus can’t die again, so He can’t be lost.  Jesus understands what you and I face each and every day, so He can have compassion.  Jesus never sleeps so He can be watchful when we cannot.  Everything Jesus said is right and true so He can be trusted.  Jesus loves us so much that He is willing to call us ‘friend’, so He can be reliable and non-judgmental.  How many of us can say that?  How many of our friends and family can be relied on like that?

We all have areas that are not only important but are also very personal.  They are, by no means, illogical or unimportant and should not be diminished in any way.  We also must realize that this world is bigger than all of us and everything we see will one day be destroyed.  However, Jesus will never be like that.  He said, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life.  No one gets to the Father except through me.”  There is no other way.

Be encouraged today with the availability, compassion and commitment from Jesus.  Only He can fulfill your life with joy, peace and hope.  Ask Jesus into your life today and experience the greatest success your life will ever know.

God bless and encourage someone today.

One thought on “What is Your Greatest Success?

Leave a Reply

