I Can’t Wait for My Own Room!!!

This was the phrase my older son said as we were about to close on the house we currently live in.  He had shared his room with his brother for 7 years, was getting older, not wanting to go to bed but also not wanting to watch History Channel or Discovery Channel with me.

At the time we were in a two bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor of a house.  My wife and I had been searching for some time, but either didn’t have the money to afford the house or the house needed too much work.  Either way, the apartment was becoming too small for us and our boys.

The day we closed on the house, we brought the boys inside and told them which room was theirs.  My older son asked for the larger room, but we asked him, “What are you going to do in that larger room?  You don’t have friends over and play in your room anymore.”  He responded, “Because I’m older.”  Even though that may be a good reason for some, we wanted him to express his feelings toward the larger room.

The end result was that he got the smaller of the bedrooms with the understanding that we would re-finish the basement so that he could have a place to bring his friends and play video games, talk or just simply hang out.  He agreed.  Which brings me to this moment in time.

Over the past few months, I have been working on re-finishing the basement.  I ripped out all the old paneling, secured some unsafe walls, built 3 more walls, put up insulation and will complete the sub-flooring tomorrow night.  As I have been doing all this, one passage in the Bible that keeps coming to mind to motivate me to work even harder…

In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going.” – John 14:2-4 (NIV 1984)

As I had done some previous studies on this, the translation can vary.  Here is another translation….

“In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.  And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.” – John 14:2-4 (KJV)

So which is it?  Is it a room or a mansion?  Well, if you look up the Greek and look deeper, the real meaning is “dwelling place”.  It may be a room or a mansion, but no matter what we think, it is a dwelling place that you and I can’t and won’t understand until we see God face to face.  However, that is not the focus.

The focus here is on what Jesus said next, “If it were not so, I would have told you.”  Isn’t it great to know that no matter what we think, Jesus’ words will always come true?  Don’t you get a sense of security and contentment knowing that Jesus said, “Not only am I going to prepare a place for you, but I will also come back to bring you there and spend eternity with Me”?

No matter you views on theological discussions we may have or read, this one truth is very clear, Jesus is preparing a place for us.  It may be our own room.  It may be our own mansion.  It may be a community center (just kidding).  But in all seriousness, it is good to know that the Creator of the Universe is preparing a place for us.  This leads me to my next quick thought?

I wonder if that is why He chose to become a carpenter?  Hmmmm.  As I am doing more and more carpentry, I realize the importance of measuring twice and cutting once.  I also am getting a better appreciation of how hard the work really is.  Jesus is laboring for us to make us a place we can spend eternity with Him.  He is working hard to get this place just right so that we can enjoy it with him, just like I am doing for my sons.

During the week, think about how much God loves you.  If you are not sure, then ask yourself, “Why would He go and prepare a place for me if He didn’t love me?”  Then read John 14 and find out how much Jesus love you.  He truly is the Way, the Truth and the Life.

God Bless and encourage someone today.

Leave a Reply

