How We Forget So Easily

Today was an interesting day.  I was able to start reading a short book by A.W. Tozer that I had not read in a very long time.  The title is “How to Be Filled with the Holy Spirit”.  I am not sure when it was written, but it is a compilation of four sermons A.W. Tozer did in relation to Who and What the Holy Spirit is.

In the first sermon, he started to talk about how easily we forget to remember what we learned and why we learned it.  Referring to the Holy Spirit, he recites the Nicene Creed and the Athanasian Creed.  He shows that not only does the Holy Spirit exist, but He exists  beyond our capabilities to understand how this can be as we are beings of matter and finite while the Holy Spirit does not follow these rules.

However, during my reading, A.W. Tozer explains that, in his experience, many people do not understand why they believe, what they believe.  He recalls a couple that openly and honestly asked for healing and came to his church as their church did not truly believe that healing can occur.

This brought me to ask myself, “Why do I believe, what I believe?”  Do I have any justifiable reasons, outside of exterior opinions or writings that I can provide myself to convince myself that what I believe is true?

Where A.W. Tozer goes with this is in this one single statement:

“I have told you what the great creeds of the church say.  If the Bible taught otherwise, I would throw the creeds away.”

In those two sentences, his message was very clear.  If the Bible does not agree with any and all outside sources, then it cannot be true.  Therefore, the ruler of understanding and wisdom is the Bible and nothing else.

As I sat there reading, I overheard a group of men talking about Galations 6:6.  They were not ashamed to speak in public what they believed with each other.  These men were enthralled by going back and forth with what the Word of God says.  Just before they were to leave, I turned to one of them and told them how proud I was to see someone else speak publically about their faith.  It was at that moment, God, once again, appeared in an unexpected way.

One of the men told me they were pastors of different churches.  They were all affiliated by friendships and one mission, to bring the Gospel to those overseas.  Although I cannot state where they went, I will say that they were in a country that was extremely hostile to Christianity.  They decided to take a trip overseas to a hostile country to proclaim the message of Jesus Christ.  WOW!!!!!

They shared how God was working in the lives of the people in that country and how excited they were to see and experience what God had done.  They seemed energetic and ready to continue preaching the Good News, even though they had just spent most of the night flying from one end of the world to another.

As they shared, there was a sense of joy that overwhelmed me and it still has not passed.  It was exciting to hear of how God is working, how His Spirit is at work in people’s lives.  How God could penetrate the most harshest of countries and have His Word proclaimed.  But it also was a reminder of how easily I forgot.

In 1990,  spent a week in La Pointe, Haiti in a mission hospital.  There God showed me that life is not about me.  He showed me that there was a world that needs Him, more than they need me.  He humbled me for one of the first times that I can remember.  I then had a sense of mission and purpose.  These were the same feelings that came over me this afternoon, while speaking with these pastors.

I had forgotten what life was about.  I had forgotten that being busy isn’t necessarily where God wants me.  I had forgotten that in the scope of eternity, my life is as small as the smallest portion of the smallest molecule on the smallest nuclei on the smallest…you get what I am saying.  Our lives are just a blink.  Our mission is just a moment.  Our purpose is for an eternity.

We need to do as A.W. Tozer explained, go back to the basics and understand why you believe, what you believe.  If you believe a creed or a person or a movement, then you will be just like the leaf in the wind, it goes wherever the wind blows it.  However, if you study andknow why you believe what you believe, you will be like the house built on a sturdy foundation, where wind and waves cannot move it.

Don’t ever forget so easily, like I did so recently.  Remember, God loves you and wants you to share His Good News with someone today.  God Bless and encourage someone today.

One thought on “How We Forget So Easily

  1. Pingback: Our Gentle God Loves Kindness « Broken Believers

Leave a Reply

